Winner – Undergraduate Narrative Award


Congratulations to UBC student Jenny McCormack, winner of the 2016 Undergraduate Narrative Award for Palliative Medicine. Diana Kim (UBC) and Shannon Chun (Queen’s) received honourable mention. We have invited Ms. McCormack to personally share her narrative at the 2017 Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference in Edmonton (June 1-3, 2017). She will also receive a cash prize of $500, generously sponsored by Pallium Canada.

The top three narratives have been submitted for potential publication. We will post them as soon as we are able.

Each year the award also recognizes a palliative care physician who has shown an enduring commitment to the integration of the arts and humanities into the practice of palliative medicine. This year’s honouree is Dr. Pippa Hall from the University of Ottawa.

Dr. Pippa Hall’s profile is posted here

Thank you to all entrants and to the 2016 judging committee: Margaret Cottle (CSPCP Undergraduate Education Committee), Pippa Hall (Honoree, U. of Ottawa), Carol-Ann Courneya (Advisor), Paul Daeninck (CSPCP Awards Committee), and Barbara Sibbald (CMAJ).

For detailed information about this award, see the Awards Page on this web site.