Congratulations to Queen’s University student Simran Sandhu, winner of the 2022 Undergraduate Narrative Award for Palliative Medicine for a narrative she submitted to the contest. Simran Sandhu will receive a cash prize of $500, generously sponsored by Pallium Canada.

Laura Nguyen (University of Ottawa) and Elizabeth Rowe (Memorial University of Newfoundland) both received honourable mention for narratives they submitted.

We will encourage these students to submit their narratives for potential publication in the Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ) and we will post them as soon as we are able.

Published narratives from past years’ contest are posted here.

Each year the award also recognizes a palliative care physician who has shown an enduring commitment to the integration of the arts and humanities into the practice of palliative medicine.

This year’s honouree is Dr. Douglas McGregorfrom The University of British Columbia.

Thank you to all entrants and to the 2022 judging committee: Margaret Cottle (CSPCP Undergraduate Education Committee), Dr. Douglas McGregor (Honoree), Carol-Ann Courneya (Advisor), Cori Schroder (CSPCP Awards Committee), and Barbara Sibbald (CMAJ).

For detailed information about this award, see the Awards Page on this web site.