Tag Archives: alpm 2023

Call for Nominations: Eduardo Bruera Award and Humanitarian Award

Deadline: February 5, 2023
Winners announced by: March 13, 2023
Winners honoured: ALPM Conference in Calgary, AB

The Eduardo Bruera Award

The Eduardo Bruera Award in Palliative Medicine recognizes those physicians who have made a difference at a local, regional or international level, demonstrating excellence in palliative medicine in the following four areas:

• clinical palliative medicine
• education
• research
• program administration/leadership

Every year, one of these four areas is recognized individually, but for 2023, the award will celebrate a physician who demonstrates excellence in all four areas. This year’s focus is on “Comprehensive Commitment” seeking candidates who demonstrate a balanced, holistic integration across all four domains of influence in palliative medicine, in honour of the fulsome and far-reaching career of Dr. Bruera.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.

The CSPCP Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award will be given annually to a CSPCP member who significantly improves the lives of underserved populations nationally or internationally, through:

a) Direct service provision AND/OR
b) Development of humanitarian programs

The humanitarian work does not have to be in the field of palliative medicine, but the nominee must be a palliative medicine physician.

The winner will receive one year of free membership in the CSPCP, a commemorative plaque, and presentation of the award during the 18th Annual Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference in Calgary, Alberta (May 4 – 6, 2023). Prize: A donation of $1000 to a humanitarian organization selected by the winner.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.