Chochinov Appointed to Senate of Canada

The CSPCP extends sincere congratulations to Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov for his appointment to the Senate of Canada. Dr. Chochinov is a member of the CSPCP and a past recipient of the CSPCP’s Eduardo Bruera Award in Palliative Medicine. His appointment is well deserved and we are proud and happy to have such a strong, dedicated leader of palliative care in the Senate.

Dr. Chochinov’s bio, as posted on the Prime Minister’s web site ( states:

A professor of psychiatry at the University of Manitoba and Director of the Manitoba Palliative Care Research Unit, Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov is recognized internationally as a leading scholar, researcher and proponent of palliative care. Dr. Chochinov also holds a Ph.D. in Community Health Sciences. His publications addressing the psychosocial dimensions of palliation have helped define standards of end-of-life care. His work has transformed his field and improved the care and compassion provided to dying patients, in Canada and around the world. He was recently appointed by the Government to chair the External Panel on Options for a Legislative Response to Carter v. Canada. He previously served seven years as a member of the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR). Dr. Chochinov has been a guest lecturer in most major academic institutions across the country and in the United States; he has also lectured around the globe. He holds the only Canada Research Chair in Palliative Care and is the only psychiatrist in Canada to be designated as a Soros Faculty Scholar, Project on Death in America. He is the Chair for the Canadian Virtual Hospice, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. From 1987 through 2010, he served as an itinerant, fly-in, psychiatric consultant to The Pas and understands the challenges and opportunities of living in rural northern communities. His contributions and achievements have been recognized with many awards, including the Order of Manitoba and the Order of Canada.