Category Archives: Latest News

Call for Nominations: Eduardo Bruera Award and Humanitarian Award

Deadline: February 5, 2023
Winners announced by: March 13, 2023
Winners honoured: ALPM Conference in Calgary, AB

The Eduardo Bruera Award

The Eduardo Bruera Award in Palliative Medicine recognizes those physicians who have made a difference at a local, regional or international level, demonstrating excellence in palliative medicine in the following four areas:

• clinical palliative medicine
• education
• research
• program administration/leadership

Every year, one of these four areas is recognized individually, but for 2023, the award will celebrate a physician who demonstrates excellence in all four areas. This year’s focus is on “Comprehensive Commitment” seeking candidates who demonstrate a balanced, holistic integration across all four domains of influence in palliative medicine, in honour of the fulsome and far-reaching career of Dr. Bruera.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.

The CSPCP Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award will be given annually to a CSPCP member who significantly improves the lives of underserved populations nationally or internationally, through:

a) Direct service provision AND/OR
b) Development of humanitarian programs

The humanitarian work does not have to be in the field of palliative medicine, but the nominee must be a palliative medicine physician.

The winner will receive one year of free membership in the CSPCP, a commemorative plaque, and presentation of the award during the 18th Annual Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference in Calgary, Alberta (May 4 – 6, 2023). Prize: A donation of $1000 to a humanitarian organization selected by the winner.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.

Winner of the 2022 Palliative Medicine Resident Research Award

Congratulations to Dr. Priya Gupta, from McMaster University, for winning the 2022 Palliative Medicine Resident Research Award. She was selected by audience vote, via webinar, for her presentation Exploring Facilitators to and Barriers in Providing Outpatient Palliative Care to Refugees: A Mixed Methods Study. Congratulations to the other finalists too, for their excellent presentations about their scholarly projects: Dr. Conor Barker from the University of British Columbia, and Dr. Harrison Moore from the University of Alberta.

A great deal of work took place to make this possible. Thank you to all residents who submitted abstracts; to Dr. Jenny Lau, Dr. Gord McDonald, and Dr. Jessica Simon for reviewing the blinded abstracts; to the CSPCP members who attended the webinar; to the CSPCP admin team for organizing the virtual event; and to Dr. Leonie Herx for leading everyone!


Congratulations to Queen’s University student Simran Sandhu, winner of the 2022 Undergraduate Narrative Award for Palliative Medicine for a narrative she submitted to the contest. Simran Sandhu will receive a cash prize of $500, generously sponsored by Pallium Canada.

Laura Nguyen (University of Ottawa) and Elizabeth Rowe (Memorial University of Newfoundland) both received honourable mention for narratives they submitted.

We will encourage these students to submit their narratives for potential publication in the Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ) and we will post them as soon as we are able.

Published narratives from past years’ contest are posted here.

Each year the award also recognizes a palliative care physician who has shown an enduring commitment to the integration of the arts and humanities into the practice of palliative medicine.

This year’s honouree is Dr. Douglas McGregorfrom The University of British Columbia.

Thank you to all entrants and to the 2022 judging committee: Margaret Cottle (CSPCP Undergraduate Education Committee), Dr. Douglas McGregor (Honoree), Carol-Ann Courneya (Advisor), Cori Schroder (CSPCP Awards Committee), and Barbara Sibbald (CMAJ).

For detailed information about this award, see the Awards Page on this web site.

CSPCP Incoming President Dr. Ebru Kaya

On behalf of the Board of the Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians, we wish to welcome our incoming president Dr Ebru Kaya.

Ebru graduated from her residency training in palliative medicine in the UK and immigrated to Canada in 2006. Ebru is an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine and is the Program Director for the Royal College residency training program in palliative medicine at the University of Toronto. She is also the interim Division Director in Toronto and the Palliative Care Site Lead for the Toronto General Hospital. Ebru first joined the Board of Directors 5 years ago, where she has served as Treasurer and President-Elect and has contributed to many committees and working groups associated with the Society. She currently divides her time between provision of clinical services, teaching, and in her leadership roles for University Health Network, the Division of Palliative Medicine in Toronto and the Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians.